The Fairy Queen

The Fairy Queen

Opera noir in two parts, five acts in English, with Hungarian and English surtitles

Nincs aktuális előadás

Ön egy múltbeli eseményre keresett rá. Kérjük, válogasson aktuális kínálatunkból a keresőjében!

Last event date: Sunday, April 03 2022 7:00PM

Purcell's The Fairy Queen was originally a “semi-opera”, that is, a series of musical passages created for a production of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream which did not relate an independent story, but only took on true meaning in conjunction with the prose work. András Almási-Tóth conceives the work as an opera and incorporates the music into a new story. This version of A Midsummer Night's Dream takes place in an urban woodland, with lonely characters, crime, murder and love. The figure of the Fairy Queen here is a kind of femme fatale: a woman in search of herself and her own happiness and finding neither as she flees from one relationship to the next. 



Set designer
András Almási-Tóth / Sebastian Hannak
Costume designer
Krisztina Lisztopád
Movement director
Kristóf Widder
Dramaturg, Hungarian surtitles
Kinga Keszthelyi
Chorus director
Gábor Csiki
Musical interlude
Kornél Fekete-Kovács
Fekete-Kovács Quintet
Benjamin Bayl
The Fairy Queen
Rita Rácz
The Poet
Péter Fried
The Lover
Gianluca Margheri
Two Girls
Eszter Balogh / Zita Szemere
The Boy
Zoltán Daragó
The Stranger
Gyula Rab
The Chinese Man
Tibor Szappanos

Our offer

DownBeat magazine writes that this ensembles condenses talent, explosive virtuosity and acclaim to a degree that cannot really be found in other comparable jazz line-ups. The SFJAZZ Collective is a true workshop band, a community of co-creators of equal standing.

"A shakespeare-i narancs levét kifacsartam, mégpedig úgy, hogy a haszontalan magok nem pottyantak a pohárba" - írta az opera szövegkönyvét jegyző Arrigo Boito. A frissítő nedűt Giuseppe Verdi hörpintette fel, és írta meg utolsó alkotását, a Falstaffot. A remekművet közel ötven év múltán mutatja be új rendezésben a New York-i Met.

For more than two centuries after they were written, Johann Sebastian Bach's cello suites attracted no interest at all. It was Pablo Casals who played the six pieces in concert for the first time, and who also made the first recordings of these masterpieces in the late 1930s.


Opera in three acts, in Italian, with Hungarian and English surtitles

Simferopol is a city on the Crimean peninsula in Ukraine. This is where Diana Tishchenko, one of the most outstandingly…

Just over a year and a half after the Met staged the première of his Fire Shut Up in My…

Warning! The basket time limit is about to expire!
estimated time left:

item(s) in basket


Time limit has expired. Please, put item(s) in to basket again.